Gregular's Spot









Copyright Infringement

So, a little while back I received an email from my internet service provider, Rogers Cable.  The email came from “abuse@rogers.com”.  The contents of the email are provided below.  Has anyone else out there ever received one of these, and were there any repercussions other than the email?


Rogers Cable (Rogers) has received a notice stating that activities associated with your IP address are infringing copyright in material(s) owned or exclusively licensed by others.

The full notice is appended to this e-mail below.

Under section 4(d) of the Rogers Yahoo! Hi-Speed Internet End User Agreement (EUA) and Acceptable Use Policy (AUP), you are prohibited from using the Rogers Yahoo! Hi-Speed Internet service to engage in illegal activities, including activities that infringe copyright.  Copies of our EUA and AUP are available at:

http://na.edit.client.yahoo.com/rogers/show_static?.form=terms&.intl=ca

Where there has been a violation of our EUA and/or AUP, including the unauthorized distribution of copyright-protected material, Rogers has the right to take appropriate action against you.

If you have any questions about the attached copyright notice, please contact the sender of the notice using the contact information provided in the notice.  Please do not reply to this e-mail.

We trust you will comply with our policies and all applicable laws in using the Rogers Yahoo! Hi-Speed Internet service.

Rogers EUA Management Team
Sincerely,

EUA Management Team
Rogers Yahoo Hi-Speed Internet

http://info.yahoo.com/legal/ca/rogers/terms/all/
01195154



Tuesday, November 10, 2009


Rogers Cable Inc.
1 Mount Pleasant Road
Toronto,   M4Y-2Y5  CA



RE:  Unauthorized Distribution of the Copyrighted Motion Picture Entitled
Black Dynamite


Dear Rogers High-Speed Internet:

We are writing this letter on behalf of Worldwide Sony Pictures Entertainment Acquisitions Inc. who owns certain rights under copyright law in the title Black Dynamite.

No one is authorized to perform, exhibit, reproduce, transmit, or otherwise distribute the above-mentioned work without the express written permission of Worldwide Sony Pictures Entertainment Acquisitions Inc., which permission Worldwide Sony Pictures Entertainment Acquisitions Inc. has not granted to 99.247.229.30.

We have received information that an individual has utilized the above-referenced IP address at the noted date and time to offer downloads of the above-mentioned work through a “peer-to-peer” service.

The attached documentation specifies the location on your network where the infringement occurred, the number of repeat violations recorded at this specific location, as well as any available identifying information.

The distribution of unauthorized copies of copyrighted motion pictures constitutes copyright infringement under the Copyright Act, Title 17 United States Code Section 106(3).  This conduct may also violate the laws of other countries, international law, and/or treaty obligations.

Since you own this IP address, we request that you immediately do the following:

1) Disable access to the individual who has engaged in the conduct described above; and
2) Terminate any and all accounts that this individual has through you.

On behalf of Worldwide Sony Pictures Entertainment Acquisitions Inc., owner of certain rights to the copyrighted material at issue in this notice, we hereby state, pursuant to the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, Title 17 United States Code Section 512, that we have a good faith belief that use of the material in the manner complained of is not authorized by Worldwide Sony Pictures Entertainment Acquisitions Inc., its respective agents, or the law.

Also pursuant to the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, we hereby state that we believe the information in this notification is accurate, and, under penalty of perjury, that MediaSentry is authorized to act on behalf of the owner of the exclusive rights being infringed as set forth in this notification.

Please contact us at the above listed address or by replying to this email should you have any questions.

We appreciate your assistance and thank you for your cooperation in this matter.  In your future correspondence with us, please refer to Case ID 914085723.

Your prompt response is requested.

Respectfully,

A Kempe
Enforcement Coordinator
MediaSentry.



———————————————

INFRINGEMENT DETAIL
——————————

Infringing Work: Black Dynamite
First Found: 6 Nov 2009 00:18:26 EST (GMT -0500)
Last Found: 6 Nov 2009 00:18:26 EST (GMT -0500)
IP Address: 99.247.229.30
IP Port: 44300
Protocol: BitTorrent
Torrent InfoHash: FC11E23D6B69BC59C7DF86ECBF3307

226C9D380B
Containing file(s):
Black.Dynamite.2009.DVDSCR.XVID-PrisM.NoRar.www.crazy-torrent.com.torrent (1,490,460,485 bytes)



No more twitter

Well, once again I haven’t been here in a while.  I forgot that my twitter feed was posting here, so this stupid Tumblr is just full of my twitter ramblings.  That is shut off now, and I really am planning to start using this site for something useful.

Pie Chart


I’ve been douchebagged. http://yfrog.com/3n12rcqj


Ultimate ‘stachetastic is the greatest iPhone app ever.


Emo me. http://yfrog.com/3lxhij


Watching 2012. Let’s see if it’s as bad as everyone says…….


Hey neighbor, where are you going to put a tree that big?
Bend over and I’ll show you.


Dare to be different #green


No more mininova. 


RT @AM980News: Sarah Palin: Canada should “dismantle” public health care system http://bit.ly/6FcU6V What a fucktard.


Oprah is ending her show? How am I going to know what show not to watch at four o’clock every day?


126
To Tumblr, Love PixelUnion